2016/2017 Contest Judges!



Matthew Zapruder is an author, editor, and professor of creative writing. His honors include a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Lannan Foundation Residency Fellowship, the William Carlos Williams Award from the Poetry Society of America, and the May Sarton Prize from the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He is the author of several collections of poetry, including Sun Bear (2014), Come On All You Ghosts (2010), The Pajamaist (2006), and American Linden (2002). He currently lives in Oakland, CA, where he works as an associate professor Saint Mary’s College of California MFA Program in Creative Writing, and as an editor for Wave Books.





Esme Weijun Wang is a journalist and essayist who focuses primarily on mental health advocacy. She is the author of The Border of Paradise (2016) and received the 2016 Graywolf Nonfiction Prize for her collection of essays, The Collected Schizophrenias, as well as the Hopwood Award for Novel-in-Progress, and the Louis Sudler Award for Creative Writing from Stanford University.